top of page

Unseeing the Window

Since the day of its loss I felt an urgent need to go to Dwejra to see with my own eyes. I made the trip a few days later and joined the fellow pilgrims who had also been called by this urge to come and unsee the window.

As the sun set I watched couples, small groups and loners walking slowly, sitting, gazing, taking photos. Every gaze, every snap, every conversation, or silent meditation, all sharing the same single focus – the space that was and still is defined by the window – its lingering presence – its unsettling absence – demanding testimony and evidence for an archive which needs restoring.

The sun set and as I walked away I knew, without looking, that the dust and debris of the collapse could finally start to settle.

Photo By Sara Pace


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page